Politics, Trivia

Pub quiz humiliation

Went to my first Courtenay Precinct pub quiz last night.

I got to the Welsh Dragon Bar (AKA Taj Mahal) just before the 8.30pm start time. 

As one who loves listening to accents, I enjoyed the British pub feel of this bar jam-packed with Welsh paraphernalia and Irish and English clientele.

A husband and wife from Widnes were at the only non-full table. They kindly allowed me to join them, and even more kindly insisted on shouting me a beer. 

The husband explained I was helping them drain last week’s first prize. ‘We’ were the champions! Victory seemed assured.

The reality was a bit different. (Think the All Blacks the last time they played somewhere Welsh.)

Last week, with another last minute gatecrasher, the team came first. With me, seventh equal.

Out of ten.

Dragon Bar quiz questions have four themes. Ten questions per theme.

I told my teammates I could be useful in matters of sport, history or geography. But don’t count on me for entertainment.

Of the four categories, two were entertainment – James Bond Films and Who Sang This Song? 

Indeed, the James Bond section could have been called Who Sang Which Bond Song? There were three Bond song questions.

I felt proud that I actually knew that Paul McCartney and Wings performed Live and Let Die.

And that Carly Simon sang Nobody Does It Better.

And that Scottish songstress Sheena Easton was the voice of For Your Eyes Only.

Unfortunately, these were not the questions they asked.

The last category was even worse. The names of wedding anniversaries.

I find it hard enough to remember the dates.

We came close on the second anniversary though. The correct answer was cotton. We said teatowels.

Only Currencies of the World provided me with any opportunity to shine, since I used to collect coins as a kid.

Unfortunately I failed to collect any Albanian leks or Algerian dinars. Little did I know how costly that would prove forty years on.

I did know that the Irish currency was the punt. I did not know that was was the operative word.

Unbeknownst to my two pommy teammates and me, the Irish punted the punt into touch in 2002 and replaced it with the all-conquering euro.

I agonised over whether those brassy Filipino coins with the woman on them that I remembered were dollars or pesos. I opted for dollars.

They were pesos. 

I did remember that the Malaysian currency was the ringgit, and the Norwegian was the krone.

And I guessed right that, like the Indians, the Nepalese have rupees, and that the won is used in North Korea as well, if not as often, as the South.

But, all in all, we were a miserable failure, scoring 19 out of 40.

The winners, with 31, were a team of uni students that included Gina from the ACT office and the very lucky ACT Otaki candidate Peter McCaffery.

After a hard day’s campaigning, Peter arrived just in time to answer one question and qualify for an equal share of the $50 bar tab.

I guess that’s what they mean by giving your party vote to ACT.

Leave a Reply

